Over 100 years of existence, the French architecture in Hai Phong has become a heritage, with classic and luxurious beauty.
Coming to the Hai Phong food tour, visitors can take advantage of visiting and checking in the architectural works built by the French more than 100 years ago, which are the highlight of the city.
From a coastal land, Hai Phong was one of the first three first-class urban centers of Vietnam in 1888 under the planning and construction hands of the French. In the book A Brief History of Hai Phong Street, it is noted that, after the Treaty of Giap Tuat in 1874, the French began the process of urbanizing Hai Phong City by building many works in the 7-hectare concession area, extending the land. from Lac Long bridge to Tran Hung Dao street today.
According to researchers, the French-built buildings are unified in design, European-style aesthetics, high performance, safety, certainty, no moisture, cool in summer, and warm in winter. Bronze. In addition, some works have more oriental motifs, bringing their own and unique features.
Among the French works in Hai Phong city, the city’s Opera House is the most famous. According to historical documents, the Opera House was built in 1904 and completed in 1912. This is also one of the three Opera Houses built by the French in Vietnam. The interior of the theater is 110 years old in European style, palatial and magnificent. Today, the City Opera House is still often used to organize big events.
Near the Opera House is Tran Hung Dao Street, where is the private house Fesquet of a French doctor. This building is currently the headquarters of Hai Phong Youth Union.
Also on Tran Hung Dao street is Kim Dong Park. In the middle of this park there is a multi-roofed area built in 1942, now the library of Hong Bang district.
Pham Tue, a collector of many images of Hai Phong city, among the western streets built by the French, Dien Bien Phu Street (the French name was Paul Bert Avenue) is the most beautiful. On this Paul Bert Boulevard there is also the French-Chinese Bank built in 1911, now the Hai Phong Museum; City Chamber of Commerce, the building was built in 1895 with the highlight of the tower with 3 clocks, now is the headquarters of the Department of Culture and Sports or the “Five Star Bank” is now the Headquarters of Viettinbank.
About 1 km from Kim Dong flower garden is Hai Phong station (located on Luong Khanh Thien street). Hai Phong station headquarters was built around 1902 and is still one of the largest and most beautiful train stations in the North.
Near the Administration Building, there is also the Central Post Office of Hai Phong City, built in 1905. Today, this work attracts many people to take pictures.
Hai Phong City People’s Committee headquarters, formerly the Administration Building, one of the first works built by the French in Hai Phong.
A cafe on Tran Hung Dao street, Hong Bang district, 1 km from Hai Phong station, has just been renovated from a French architectural villa, attracting many people to visit.
Architect Minh Tri, Vice Chairman of Hai Phong Architects Association, assessed that Hai Phong urban area bears the impression of the planning and architecture of the French. According to Mr. Tri, over the past 100 years, French buildings still exist and have been approached and used by all social classes.